USDF Congratulates 2010 Regional GMO Volunteer of the Year Recipients

For Immediate Release
Wednesday, February 2, 2011

The United States Dressage Federation (USDF) is pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2010 Regional Group Member Organization (GMO) Volunteer of the Year Award, sponsored by The Paddock Saddlery and presented during the Board of Governor's General Assembly at the 2010 Adequan/USDF Annual Convention in Jacksonville, FL.  This award honors outstanding individuals who have dedicated hours of volunteer service at the regional level.  These individuals are often the backbone of GMOs, offering their time and skills to support dressage and promote dressage education.
Each Regional GMO Volunteer of the Year recipient received a plaque, recognition in the yearbook issue of USDF Connection, and a $100 gift certificate to The Paddock Saddlery.
2010 winners:
Regional GMO Volunteers of the Year:
Region 1: Sharon Rinkenbach-Grauer (Bernville, PA - Lehigh Valley Dressage Association)
Region 2:  Ed Eichelberger (Plainfield, IL – Illinois Dressage & Combined Training Association)
Region 3:  Michelle Velasco (Green Cove Springs, FL – Northeast Florida dressage Association)
Region 4: Joann Messersmith (Parker, SD – Dakota Dressage & Eventing)
Region 5: Kay Lorenzen (Glendale, AZ – Arizona Dressage Association)
Region 6: Lou Anne McKown (Duvall, WA - Oregon Dressage Society)
Region 7: No Nominations
Region 8: Peg Barisone (Webster, NY - Western New York Dressage Association)
Region 9:  Barbara Harty (Weatherford, TX – Fort Worth Dressage Club)

For more information on GMOs in your area or GMO award programs, please visit the USDF Web site at, or contact the USDF GMO Committee liaison at

Founded in 1973, the United States Dressage Federation is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to education, recognition of achievement, and promotion of dressage. For more information about USDF membership or programs, visit, email, or call (859) 971-2277.